Get the Tata Capital App to apply for Loans & manage your account. Download Now


Equipment Finance

Avail Digital Equipment Loans
up to Rs. 1 Crore

  • Attractive ROIs
  • Customizable Loan tenure

Equipment Leasing

Avail Leasing solutions
for all asset classes

  • Up to 100% financing
  • No additional collateral required

Tata Capital > Blog > Personal Use Loan > Here Are Some of the Things You Should Know About E-Stamping

Personal Use Loan

Here Are Some of the Things You Should Know About E-Stamping

Here Are Some of the Things You Should Know About E-Stamping

If you’re about to buy a house, you’ve likely come across the term stamp duty. Think of it as a tax you must pay on every property you purchase. You pay stamp duty to the state government through documents that carry a revenue stamp. This stamp is proof of tax paid.

You cannot purchase any property without paying stamp duty. Nowadays, homeowners can complete this process through online stamping or E-stamping.

How to pay stamp duty electronically?

  • Visit the official digital stamping website –
  • If you’re a first-time user, create an account by clicking on “Register Now”. The site will send an activation link to your email id. Open your inbox to click on this link and complete the registration process. If you’re a returning user, fill in your user id and password to continue.
  • After creating your account, go to the home page and click on the E-stamp services tab. Remember, not all states allow electronic stamping yet. So, check whether your state allows it or not. If it does, download the digital stamping application form and fill it out. 
  • You can either take the filled form to an Authorised Collection Centre or ACC and pay using cash, cheque or demand draft. Or, you can pay online on the official site using your debit or credit card, net banking, RTGS, NEFT or account-to-account transfer.  
  • Once you’ve paid the duty and submitted the form online, you’ll instantly receive your online stamping certificate.

How to verify digital stamping?

It’s not enough to take a home loan, purchase property, and pay your stamp duty; you must also verify it, just like you verify your ITR after filing. This step is mandatory. Do this online by visiting the official portal’s home page and clicking on the “Verify E-stamp” tab.

A form will open up asking you to fill out details like the state, certificate number, stamp duty type, etc. Fill in all the desired fields and click on “Verify”, and you’re done!

Alternatively, you can also verify the electronic stamp paper online by downloading a mobile app called 'E-Stamping'. The app is available on both the PlayStore and the AppStore and allows you to verify the stamp paper online using two methods-

  • You can scan the QR code for verification.
  • You can opt for manual verification.

For QR code verification, you will have to scan a QR code by using the app's camera to view all details. But remember, you cannot use QR code verification for e-stamping if your certificate was generated before 13 February 2019.

If you opt for manual e-stamping verification, follow these steps-

  • Click on the 'manual' button and select your state.
  • Enter the required information like your certificate number, issue date, amount reference, unique document number, document description, purchaser details, consideration price, stamp duty amount, first party, and third party.

After submitting this information, your e-stamp will be verified.

Fees for online e-stamp services

You can avail of any online e-stamp services for free. The SHCIL does not charge any fee. However, you'll have to bear stamp duty charges depending on which state you are in. This is because these charges vary from state to state.

States that allow electronic or digital stamping

Today, 18 states and 3 union territories in India allow digital stamping. These include:


1. Andaman and Nicobar

2. Andhra Pradesh

3. Bihar

4. Chhattisgarh

5. Delhi

6. Gujarat

7. Himachal Pradesh

8. Jammu and Kashmir

9. Karnataka

10. Meghalaya

11. Odisha

12. Puducherry

13. Punjab

14. Rajasthan

15. Tamil Nadu

16. Tripura

17. Uttar Pradesh

18. Uttarakhand

Union Territories

1. Chandigarh

2. UT of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

3. Ladakh

Parting thoughts

If you’re planning to purchase a property for investment in any Indian state, choose one only after figuring out the stamp duty. A calculator for EMIs will help estimate potential EMIs beforehand.

Have your heart set on a house but need help financing it? You can always turn to one of India’s highly preferred lending institutions – Tata Capital. We offer housing finance at comfortable repayment tenures, relaxed eligibility criteria and most importantly, affordable home loan interest rates.

So, don’t delay your property purchase any longer. Start an online housing finance application with us today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *