Get the Tata Capital App to apply for Loans & manage your account. Download Now


Equipment Finance

Avail Digital Equipment Loans
up to Rs. 1 Crore

  • Attractive ROIs
  • Customizable Loan tenure

Equipment Leasing

Avail Leasing solutions
for all asset classes

  • Up to 100% financing
  • No additional collateral required

New Commercial Vehicle Financing

  • First time user
  • Retail and strategic Clients

Used Commercial Vehicle finance

  • Repurchase
  • Refinance
  • Top up
  • Balance Transfer

Tata Capital > Blog > Loan for Vehicle > What Is A Good NCAP Rating In Cars

Loan for Vehicle

What Is A Good NCAP Rating In Cars

What Is A Good NCAP Rating In Cars


One of the best ways to determine a car's safety is by checking its NCAP (New Car Assessment Program) rating, which has been used since 1978. It assesses cars based on crashworthiness, safety technology, and vehicle-to-vehicle crash avoidance. Knowing this rating will be helpful when choosing a vehicle.

The NCAP, also known as Global NCAP, is an international organisation that conducts vehicle safety tests and assigns star ratings based on the performance of vehicles in these tests. The organisation operates in various countries, including India.

NCAP in India, also known as Bharat NCAP, is the Indian arm of Global NCAP and is responsible for conducting vehicle safety tests and assigning star ratings based on the performance of vehicles in these tests. The main difference between the two is that Global NCAP focuses on testing cars globally and Bharat NCAP focuses on testing cars in India.

Bharat NCAP's tests are based on the Euro NCAP (European New Car Assessment Programme) protocols and they are conducted by the Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI), which is a government-approved organisation. Global NCAP conducts tests in multiple countries and publishes the Global NCAP Rating for the consumers in those countries and also for international consumers.

Frontal crash protection, side crash protection, rollover safety and seat belt use determine a good NCAP rating. The vehicle is then given an overall score out of five stars. 

How to read the NCAP rating?

The NCAP tests in India, which are based on the Euro NCAP simulate real-world crash scenarios and are designed to evaluate a vehicle's performance in protecting adult occupants, child occupants, pedestrians and safety assist features.

The NCAP rating is based on several factors, including crash tests, safety features, and accident avoidance. Here's a closer look at each of these factors:

Crash tests

The NCAP rating includes both front and side-impact crash tests. These tests are conducted by crashing the car into a solid wall at different speeds. The results of these tests are used to determine the car's overall safety rating.

Safety features

Safety features include things like airbags, seatbelts and anti-lock brakes. The more safety features a car has, the higher will be its NCAP rating.

Accident avoidance

This includes things like electronic stability control and braking assist. Vehicles that have these types of features tend to have higher NCAP rating.

What does the NCAP rating signify?

The NCAP rating signifies the safety of a car. The higher the rating, the safer the car is. It is essential to consider this rating when buying a car, as it can help make an informed decision about the right car.

How to look for the latest NCAP rating?

When looking for the latest NCAP rating, it is essential to remember that the rating changes regularly. Visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) website to stay up-to-date on the latest NCAP rating. The NHTSA is responsible for administering the NCAP program and publishes the rating on its website.

The NHTSA website includes a searchable database for NCAP ratings of all cars of different makers. One can search based on the make of the vehicle and model or by specific rating criteria. The site also provides a list of the most recent rating changes.

It is important to remember that the NCAP program does not test the vehicles and various models of the car maker. Therefore, the rating is only given to cars that have been through the crash-testing process. It is important to note that the NCAP tests and ratings are dynamic and subject to change as new tests and standards are introduced from time to time. So it is recommended to check the latest Global NCAP rating results before making a purchase.

A five-star Global NCAP rating indicates that the vehicle performed exceptionally well in the tests and offers a high level of safety. Conversely, a one-star rating indicates poor performance and a low level of safety.

Testing Method

There are different ways to test NCAP rating. The most common is the frontal impact test, in which a car is driven into a solid wall at 56 kmph. This is used to test things such as airbag deployment and seatbelt effectiveness.

Other standard tests are the side impact test and the rollover test. In the side impact test, a car is hit by a sizeable SUV-like vehicle at 61 kmph from the side. In the rollover test, a car is rolled over onto its roof five times. This is mainly used for testing a car's roof strength and window shatter resistance.


A good NCAP rating is an essential factor to consider when deciding on a new vehicle. A car with a high NCAP rating is proven safe and helps protect its passengers from harm. When looking at potential vehicles, check the Euro NCAP rating or US NHTSA rating for each model to make an informed decision about which one is the right choice. Safety should always come first, and with the availability of the rating, one can ensure that their chosen car meets the highest security standards available in the market today.

Tata Capital's car loan is just a click away, with an easy application process and instant funding. Visit the website to learn more about the loans available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *