Get the Tata Capital App to apply for Loans & manage your account. Download Now


Equipment Finance

Avail Digital Equipment Loans
up to Rs. 1 Crore

  • Attractive ROIs
  • Customizable Loan tenure

Equipment Leasing

Avail Leasing solutions
for all asset classes

  • Up to 100% financing
  • No additional collateral required

New Commercial Vehicle Financing

  • First time user
  • Retail and strategic Clients

Used Commercial Vehicle finance

  • Repurchase
  • Refinance
  • Top up
  • Balance Transfer

Tata Capital > Blog > Loan for Home > What is Khatauni or Khetawni? – Explained in Simple Terms

Loan for Home

What is Khatauni or Khetawni? – Explained in Simple Terms

What is Khatauni or Khetawni? – Explained in Simple Terms

If you are exploring investments in farmland in India, you may come across various land revenue terms that are important to understand. One such term is Khatauni or Khetawni. Another is Khasra. So Khasra Khetwani are a couple of terms you need to know. It is crucial to have a proper understanding of Khatauni as it plays a significant role in land ownership, especially in rural parts of India.

In this article, we will explain what Khatauni is, its importance, and what is the difference between khasra and Khatauni? We will also guide you on how to obtain Khatauni details and provide useful insights along the way. So, let's explore what Is Khasra and Khatauni:

Understanding Khatauni: What is it?

What is khatauni? Khatauni, also spelt as Khetawni, is a type of account number that provides information about land ownership patterns within a family. In other words, it records all the Khasras owned by a family. A Khasra refers to a unique plot number allotted to a piece of land in rural areas. While a Khasra number represents an individual unit of land, Khatauni represents the record of several units owned by a person or family.

Khatauni carries essential details about the land, including its Khasra number, total area, names of owners and their fathers, year-wise ownership change details and more. It acts as a legal document that provides comprehensive information about the land and the people who own or cultivate it.

To understand this better, let's break down the information typically found in Khatauni:

1. Name of the village: This indicates the name of the village where the land is located.

2. Name of the district: This specifies the district in which the village falls.

3. Khata number: The unique account number assigned to a family that owns multiple properties.

4. Khasra number: The unique plot number assigned to each piece of land.

5. Name of the owner and his father: This provides the names of the landowners and their fathers.

6. Year-wise ownership change details: Any changes in land ownership due to succession or transfer are reflected in the Khatauni within three months.

Please note that Khatauni is made in B-I form and has 23 columns, while Khasra is made in P-II form and has only 12 columns. This difference in format and number of columns signifies their distinct purposes.

Now that we understand what is Khasra and Khatauni, let's delve deeper into how you can obtain Khatauni details.

How to Obtain Khatauni Details?

To obtain Khatauni details, you can visit the village tehsil or Jan-Suvidha centres. Alternatively, most states now provide online access to these records through their official revenue department websites. These websites are commonly referred to as Bhulekh websites, where you can find land-related information.

Here is a list of some states where you can get Khatauni details online:

1. Andhra Pradesh:

2. Bihar:

3. Chhattisgarh:

4. Gujarat:

5. Haryana:

6. Himachal Pradesh:

7. Karnataka:

8. Kerala:

9. Madhya Pradesh:

10. Maharashtra:

11. Odisha:

12. Punjab:

13. Rajasthan:

14. Uttarakhand:

15. Tamil Nadu:

Please note that this list is not exhaustive, and you can check your respective state's official website for Khatauni details.

Difference Between Khasra and Khatauni

While Khasra and Khatauni are both terms used in land records, they represent different aspects of land ownership. A Khasra number is assigned to each parcel of land, while Khatauni represents the record of all the Khasras owned by a person or family.

Here are the key differences between Khasra and Khatauni:

1. Unit vs. Record: A Khasra number represents an individual unit or parcel of land, whereas a Khatauni is a record of multiple Khasras owned by a person or family.

2. Format: Khasra is made in P-II form with 12 columns, while Khatauni is made in B-I form with 23 columns.

To understand this better, let's consider an analogy. Think of a village as a library with several books (Khasras). Each book has its unique identification number (Khasra number), but the library also maintains a record (Khatauni) of all the books it contains.


Understanding Khatauni or Khetawni is essential when dealing with rural land ownership in India. It provides crucial information about land ownership patterns within a family and serves as legal documentation for property transactions. By obtaining Khatauni details, you can verify important information such as the owner's name, total area, and year-wise ownership changes.

To recap, we discussed what Khatauni is, what is the difference between khasra and Khatauni, and how to obtain Khatauni records online. Remember to consult your state's respective Bhulekh website for accurate and up-to-date information.

If you are considering purchasing land or need financial assistance, Tata Capital offers various loans to fulfil your needs. Whether you're looking for a home loan or need to calculate your monthly instalments using our Home Loan EMI Calculator, Tata Capital has you covered. Take the next step towards fulfilling your dreams of land ownership with Tata Capital's reliable financial solutions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *