Get the Tata Capital App to apply for Loans & manage your account. Download Now


Equipment Finance

Avail Digital Equipment Loans
up to Rs. 1 Crore

  • Attractive ROIs
  • Customizable Loan tenure

Equipment Leasing

Avail Leasing solutions
for all asset classes

  • Up to 100% financing
  • No additional collateral required

Tata Capital > Blog > Loan for Home > Change in Stamp Duty Rates for Home Registration

Loan for Home

Change in Stamp Duty Rates for Home Registration

Change in Stamp Duty Rates for Home Registration

Stamp Duty is a form of tax that buyers have to pay when purchasing a property. Under Section 3 of the Indian Stamp Act 1899, paying stamp duty is compulsory to get a property registered. It is calculated as a percentage of the circle rate (also known as the Ready Reckoner rate) of the property, or its value, as mentioned in the agreement, whichever is higher. The stamp duty rates on property may vary from state to state, and even within a state based on various factors.

Factors affecting Stamp Duty Rate

● Status of the property -

Old or new unit, agricultural or non-agricultural land, etc.

● Location of the property -

The jurisdiction under which a property falls helps determine the applicable rate of stamp duty. Rates may be different for properties in the city, in a suburban area, metropolitan area, rural area, etc. Calculate the stamp duty of the property in your location using our stamp duty calculator.

● Age and gender -

In select states, rebates and discounts in stamp duty rates are applicable for women and senior citizens.

Additional Read: What is a Stamp Duty? How to Calculate Stamp Duty Online?

Stamp Duty Rates 2020

The new stamp duty rates applicable in different states have been listed below.

States Stamp Duty Rates
Andhra Pradesh 5%
Arunachal Pradesh 6%
Assam 8.25%
Bihar Male seller to female buyer - 5.7%
Female seller to male buyer - 6.3%
Other cases - 6%
Chhattisgarh 5%
Goa Up to Rs. 50 lakhs - 3.5%
Rs. 50 lakhs - Rs. 75 lakhs - 4%
Rs. 75 lakhs - Rs. 1 crore - 4.5%
Over Rs. 1 crore - 5%
Gujarat 4.9%
Haryana Male - 6% in rural areas and 8% in urban areas
Female - 4% in rural areas and 6% in urban areas
Himachal Pradesh 5%
Jammu and Kashmir 5%
Jharkhand 4%
Karnataka Up to Rs. 20 lakhs - 2%
Rs. 20 Lakhs - Rs. 35 lakhs - 3%
Over Rs. 35 lakhs - 5%
Kerala 8%
Madhya Pradesh 7.5%
Maharashtra 2% (From September 1 to December 31, 2020)         2% (From January 1 to March 31, 2021)
Manipur 7%
Meghalaya 9.9%
Mizoram 9%
Nagaland 8.25%
Odisha 5% (Male)                                                                          4% (Female)
Punjab 7% (Male)                                                                          5% (Female)
Rajasthan 5% (Male)                                                                           4% (Female)
Sikkim 4% + 1% (For people of Sikkimese origin)
9% + 1% (For others)
Tamil Nadu 7%
Telangana 5%
Tripura 5%
Uttar Pradesh Male - 7%
Female - 7%- Rs. 10,000
Uttarakhand Male - 5%
Female - 3.75%
West Bengal Up to Rs. 25 lakhs - 7%
Above Rs. 25 lakhs - 6%

Note: This table is for reference purposes only. States may revise their stamp duty rates. Please refer to the official website of the State for current stamp duty rates.

Additional Read: How to do Registration of a New House?

Looking for the right lender to apply for a home loan? Tata Capital has a solution for all your home loan needs. Our application process is hassle-free and has minimal required documents.

With attractive home loan interest rates, and dedicated after-sales service and support, Tata Capital is the ideal home loan provider for you. Visit our website for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *