We're constantly crafting offers and deals for you. Get them delivered straight to your device through website notifications.

All You Have To Do Is Click On "Allow".


Are you sure?

You will not be eligible for exclusive offers from Tata Capital


We will notify you in case any special offers are available

PMAY Calculator

Tools and Calculators

  • PMAY Calculator
/defer/hl-pmay-calc-iframe-working.html hl-pmay-height

What is PMAY?

PMAY stands for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana which is a Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS) introduced by the Central Government with the aim of making affordable housing available for the economically weaker sections of the society – the rural and urban poor. By the 31st of March, 2022, this social welfare flagship programme targets to construct around 20 million affordable houses.

What is PMAY Calculator?

PMAY calculator is a home loan subsidy calculator – a general self-help planning tool for calculating the amount of home loan subsidy that can be availed under the PMAY scheme. It is also known as PMAY Subsidy Calculator.

Factors that Affect Your PMAY Subsidy

  • Annual Family Income 

The higher the annual family income, the lower will be the subsidy amount and the lower the annual family income; the higher will be the subsidy amount.

  • Tenure

The subsidy amount increases with the increasing tenure or duration for which the loan is taken.

  • Loan Amount 

The amount of subsidy under PMAY scheme increases with an increase in the principal loan amount.


Different Categories under the PMAY Scheme


Your PMAY subsidy will largely depend upon the economic category you fall under. The PMAY scheme permits housing loan under the following four categories -

  • EWS Category – Also known as the Economically Weaker Section, the EWS category comprises those households whose annual income is Rs. 3 lakhs or below

  • LIG Category – Also known as Lower Income Group, the LIG category includes those households whose annual income ranges between Rs. 3 lakhs to Rs. 6 lakhs

  • MIG I Category – Also known as Middle Income Group (I), the MIG I category is the one under which households whose annual income ranges between Rs. 6 lakhs to 12 lakhs

  • MIG II Category - Also known as Middle Income Group (II), the MIG II category consists of households having an annual income that ranges between Rs. 12 lakhs to Rs. 18 lakhs 


How to Use PMAY Calculator

Using Tata Capital’s Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Calculator is easy and the results are instantaneous.

  • Step 1: Set the amount of Annual Family Income by moving the slider or by typing in the box
  • Step 2: Next, select the tenure by moving the tenure slider or by typing in the box. You can choose the tenure in months or years by tapping onto the relevant option
  • Step 3: Finally, choose the loan amount by moving the respective slider or by typing in the box
  • Step 4: The amount of subsidy and the Subsidy Category will be calculated and shown instantaneously as you move the different sliders


There are primarily two ways to calculate subsidy on PMAY – the first is manual calculation, which is rather a tedious and often error-prone process. The other method is to use an online PMAY subsidy calculator. By using a home loan subsidy calculator for PMAY, you can get accurate results at lightning speed. 

The amount of home loan subsidy differs based on PMAY eligibility categories. The following are the PMAY subsidy amount under the four PMAY categories –

·         Economically Weaker Section (EWS) – Rs. 2.67 lakhs

·         Lower Income Group (LIG) – Rs. 2.67 lakhs

·         Middle Income Group I (MIG I) – Rs. 2.35 lakhs

·         Middle Income Group II (MIG II) – Rs. 2.30 lakhs 

Yes, you can pre-pay your housing loan after receiving PMAY subsidy based on the terms and conditions for pre-payment of your lending institution.

Though prepayment of housing loan under PMAY, either in part or full is allowed, it is subject to the following conditions –

·         You need a written approval in advance from your lending institution.

·         You need to consider and pay pre-payment charges involved.

·         You need to consider the pre-payment limit set by your lending authority. 

To avail the scheme, an applicant must belong to any of the prescribed Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana income slabs. The following are the PMAY income slabs for households as dictated by the central government –

·         Economically Weaker Section (EWS) – Below Rs. 3 lakhs

·         Lower Income Group (LIG) – Rs. 3 lakhs - Rs. 6 lakhs

·         Middle Income Group I (MIG I) – Rs. 6 lakhs - Rs. 12 lakhs

·         Middle Income Group II (MIG II) – Rs. 12 lakhs - Rs. 18 lakhs 

No, as per the PMAY value guidelines issued by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, there is no capping on the minimum or maximum PMAY property value for either of the beneficiary categories.