For some time now, electric vehicles (EV) have been hailed as the future of mobility. Eco-friendly and noise-free, these vehicles present a real and sustainable alternative to petrol-run ones.

However, their cost still poses a challenge to widespread adoption, especially in a price-sensitive market like India. Naturally, government-sponsored electric vehicle subsidy programs have become critical to paving the way for EVs in the country.

Thanks to the government’s initiatives to promote e-mobility, electric vehicles are becoming more accessible and affordable to the Indian consumer. Individual state EV policies, aimed at increasing affordability even further, provide more impetus to the shift.

Government subsidy on electric vehicles

The central government offers an e-vehicle subsidy under the national FAME-II scheme, while individual states have formulated their own policies to help EVs become a mainstream alternative.

Each state has its own set of criteria for subsidy in electric vehicles. So, which Indian state offers the most generous benefits for buying an electric vehicle? Let’s take a look.

a) State-wise incentive subsidy in electric vehicle for four-wheelers

Electric vehicles have larger batteries and are eligible for major government incentives like electric vehicle subsidy. State EV programmes also subsidise electric automobiles and Sports Utility Vehicles (SUV). The overall number of vehicles covered under these plans, on the other hand, is substantially lower. The total number of electric automobiles that can be subsidised in most states is set at 10,000 units.

Apart from the national FAME II programme, each state has its own e-mobility strategy and subsidy requirements for electric vehicles. Consequently, state government-sponsored incentives differ from state to state. The table below shows the government subsidy on electric vehicles by state.

StateSubsidy in electric vehicle per kWhMaximum electric vehicle subsidyRoad tax exemption
GujaratRs. 10,000Rs. 1,50,00050%
MaharashtraRs. 5,000Rs. 2,50,000100%
MeghalayaRs. 4,000Rs. 60,000100%
BiharRs. 10,000Rs. 1,50,000100%
AssamRs. 10,000Rs. 1,50,000100%
OdishaNARs. 1,00,000100%
West BengalRs. 10,000Rs. 1,00,000100%
Uttar PradeshNILNIL75%
Tamil NaduNilNil100%
Madhya PradeshNilNil99%
Andhra PradeshNilNil100%

b) State-wise incentive subsidy in electric vehicle for two-wheelers

State-specific EV policies are designed for a tenor of 4-5 years from the date of the notice. They only subsidise a specified number of vehicles. Most Indian states have agreed to allocate subsidy for electric vehicles (two-wheelers that qualify for incentives under the FAME-II plan) based on the size of their lithium-ion battery packs.

Electric two-wheelers are eligible for state government subsidy on electric vehicles in the same manner as electric cars and SUVs. Take a look at electric scooter and bike subsidies in the table below.

StatePer kWh of battery capacityMax electric vehicle subsidyRoad tax exemption
MaharashtraRs. 5,000Rs. 25,000100%
DelhiRs. 5,000Rs. 30,000100%
GujaratRs. 10,000Rs. 20,00050%
MeghalayaRs. 10,000Rs. 20,000100%
West BengalRs. 10,000Rs. 20,000100%
BiharRs. 10,000Rs. 20,000100%
AssamRs. 10,000Rs. 20,000100%
OdishaNARs. 5,000100%
RajasthanRs. 2,500Rs. 10,000NA
Uttar PradeshNoNo100%
Tamil NaduNoNo100%
Madhya PradeshNoNo99%
Andhra PradeshNoNo100%

What is a FAME electric vehicle subsidy?

FAME, or Faster Adoption and Manufacturing of (Hybrid and) Electric Automobiles in India, is an incentive programme for government subsidy on electric vehicles. The EV incentive programme was presented in 2013 as part of the National Mission on Electric Mobility 2011/National Electric Mobility Mission Plan 2020. The following are the main aspects of the subsidy –

  • The FAME I scheme’s first phase was approved for a two-year period, beginning April 1, 2015.
  • Since then, the EV subsidy programme has been periodically extended. The first phase of FAME was last extended to March 31, 2019.
  • The Demand Incentive Disbursement Mechanism (DIDM) is used in the FAME scheme.
  • The amount of government subsidy on electric vehicles for each vehicle category (pure electric, hybrid, etc.) has already been established based on technology and battery parameters.

What is the FAME II (FAME 2) subsidy for electric vehicles?

FAME II is the electric vehicle incentive programme’s second phase, which went live on April 1, 2019. Beginning April 2019, the government launched a three-year incentive programme with a budget of Rs. 10,000 crores. The highlights of FAME II are listed below:

  • The FAME II e vehicle subsidy is expected to cover 7,000 e-buses, 5 lakh electric 3-wheelers, 55,000 electric vehicles, and 10 lakh electric two-wheelers.
  • The EV subsidy programme has been extended till March 2024.
  • Increased subsidy for electric vehicles (two-wheelers) is one of the primary attractions of the new FAME II scheme.
  • The incentive for two-wheeler EVs was initially set at Rs. 10,000 per kWh. It has now been increased by 50% to Rs. 15,000 per kWh.
  • Additionally, the e-vehicle subsidy cap has been raised from 20% to 40% of the vehicle’s cost.
  • The subsidy for electric vehicles (four-wheelers) stays unchanged at Rs. 10,000 per kWh.
  • For an electric car, the maximum incentive value is Rs. 1.5 lakhs.

FAME II’s Requirements

  • The FAME 2 electric vehicle subsidy is available for electric cars and two-wheelers. While purchasing an EV, you should be aware of the specifics of the subsidies programme.
  • The incentive is available for electric automobiles and SUVs, with ex-factory price being limited to Rs. 15 lakhs. EV four-wheelers that cost more than Rs. 15 lakhs are, therefore, ineligible for the incentive.
  • The system requires a minimum range of 80 kilometre and a top speed of 40 kilometre per hour for battery-powered two-wheelers.
  • The FAME II e vehicle subsidy scheme is available for electric two-wheelers that cost less than Rs. 1.5 lakhs.

The following state’s policies do not include a direct subsidy for electric cars and SUVs-

  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Karnataka
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Punjab
  • Rajasthan
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Telangana
  • Uttarakhand
  • Uttar Pradesh

In most states implementing the subsidy policy, the road tax for electric four-wheelers is completely exempted, with the exception of Kerala, Gujarat, and Uttar Pradesh. In Kerala and Gujarat, buyers are required to pay 50% of the whole road tax amount. In Uttar Pradesh, buyers must pay 70% of the total road tax.

In the meantime, registration fees for all kinds of EVs are waived countrywide. The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH) announced last August that all battery-powered vehicles are exempt from fees for issuing or renewing registration certificates.

Over to you

If you are looking to bring home an electric two-wheeler, turn to Tata Capital Two-Wheeler Loan for easy bike financing. With a wide choice of loan options and customizable tenures, Tata Capital can help you get your dream ride. Now, you can get a bike loan at a competitive interest rate and ride your dream two-wheeler home!

Visit our website and check your bike loan eligibility today!

0 CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment


To know more about Terms & Conditions, click here.