To combat the rising air pollution levels in India, the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) has established a set of regulations known as the Bharat Stage Emission Standards. In fact, these emission standards have been made compulsory by the Government of India for keeping pollution levels under control. How? These standards directly mandate controlling air pollutants emitted by the internal combustion engine of vehicles.

In this article, we will explore BS4 vs BS6 – the latest additions to the list of emission standards. But before that, let’s clear the basics.

What Is Bharat Stage 6?

The Bharat Stage Emission Standards (BSES) has recently brought in Bharat Stage 6 or BS6, the sixth iteration of the vehicular emission norms. With the implementation of BS6, India’s emission norms will become equivalent to those of developed countries.

Additional Read: What Is BS-6 Engine Technology? How does It Work?

What is Bharat Stage 4?

The Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB)  introduced the Bharat stage 4, or BS4 emission norms, in 2017. According to the Bharat stage 4 emission criteria, 50 parts per million sulphur content was permitted instead of 10 parts per million mandated now by the BS6 norms.

BS4 Vs BS6 : What is the difference between BS6 and BS4?

  • The BS6 emission norms are stricter than the BS4 criteria. The Nitrogen Oxide (NOx) levels under BS6 norms have been lowered by 70% for diesel and 25% for petrol engines. Where BS6 mandate no more than 60 mg/km of NOx emissions, BS4 norms permitted 80 mg/km. As a result, a BS6 engine requires fuel containing five times lower sulphur traces than a BS4 engine.
  • The particulate matter (PM) limit for BS6 compliant diesel cars is at 4.5 mg/km, where BS4 had a limit of 25mg.  
  • The emission norms for diesel engines are more stringent in BS6 norms as NOx emission is to be reduced from 250 mg/km to 80 mg/km.
  • Additionally, the PM emission is to go down from 25 mg/km to 4.5 mg/km and the HC and NOx emissions must be brought down from 300 mg/km to 170 mg/km.
  • While BS6 has made Onboard Diagnostics (OBD) mandatory for all vehicles, it was not the case with BS4 norms.
  •  Another significant difference between BS4 and BS6 is the introduction of Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) and Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR) in diesel engines.
  • Lastly, vehicles will also have Real Driving Emissions (RDE) to measure the emission levels in real-world conditions with BS6 norms. Whereas, BS4 didn’t have any provision for the same.

Additional Read: Impact of BS6 Engine on Different Types of Cars in India

The best option for car owners

Recently, the Government mandated that no Bharat Stage 4 vehicle will be sold after April 2020. So, if you’re wondering which is better, BS4 or BS6, it’s always a good idea to choose a vehicle that follows the latest norms, and in this case – BS6. But, it may be challenging to afford a swanky new BS6-compliant vehicle without exhausting your savings.

However, considering the big BS4 vs BS6 differences, investing in a new BS4 vehicle might not be a good idea. That’s where an outstanding alternative to a new car is to purchase a second-hand BS6-compliant vehicle with a used car loan.

Looking for a second-hand car loan? Come to Tata Capital for pre-owned car loans at competitive interest rates. Enjoy flexible tenures and comfortably finance your BS6-compliant car! Start today by checking your used car loan eligibility and apply today!

0 CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment


To know more about Terms & Conditions, click here.