If you’re about to buy a house, you’ve likely come across the term stamp duty. Think of it as a tax you must pay on every property you purchase. You pay stamp duty to the state government through documents that carry a revenue stamp. This stamp is proof of tax paid.

You cannot purchase any property without paying stamp duty. Nowadays, homeowners can complete this process through online stamping or E-stamping.

How to pay stamp duty electronically?

  • Visit the official digital stamping website – https://www.shcilestamp.com/.
  • If you’re a first-time user, create an account by clicking on “Register Now”. The site will send an activation link to your email id. Open your inbox to click on this link and complete the registration process. If you’re a returning user, fill in your user id and password to continue.
  • After creating your account, go to the home page and click on the E-stamp services tab. Remember, not all states allow electronic stamping yet. So, check whether your state allows it or not. If it does, download the digital stamping application form and fill it out. 
  • You can either take the filled form to an Authorised Collection Centre or ACC and pay using cash, cheque or demand draft. Or, you can pay online on the official site using your debit or credit card, net banking, RTGS, NEFT or account-to-account transfer.  
  • Once you’ve paid the duty and submitted the form online, you’ll instantly receive your online stamping certificate.

Additional Read: Top Properties in Kolkata with Minimum Maintenance Charges

How to verify digital stamping?

It’s not enough to take a home loan, purchase property, and pay your stamp duty; you must also verify it, just like you verify your ITR after filing. This step is mandatory. Do this online by visiting the official portal’s home page and clicking on the “Verify E-stamp” tab.

A form will open up asking you to fill out details like the state, certificate number, stamp duty type, etc. Fill in all the desired fields and click on “Verify”, and you’re done!

States that allow electronic or digital stamping

Today, 18 states and 3 union territories in India allow digital stamping. These include:


1. Andaman and Nicobar

2. Andhra Pradesh

3. Bihar

4. Chhattisgarh

5. Delhi

6. Gujarat

7. Himachal Pradesh

8. Jammu and Kashmir

9. Karnataka

10. Meghalaya

11. Odisha

12. Puducherry

13. Punjab

14. Rajasthan

15. Tamil Nadu

16. Tripura

17. Uttar Pradesh

18. Uttarakhand

Union Territories

1. Chandigarh

2. UT of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

3. Ladakh

Additional Read: Stamping and Franking Charges on Home Loans: What’s The Difference?

Parting thoughts

If you’re planning to purchase a property for investment in any Indian state, choose one only after figuring out the stamp duty. And calculator for EMIs will help estimate potential EMIs beforehand.

Have your heart set on a house but need help financing it? You can always turn to one of India’s highly preferred lending institutions – Tata Capital. We offer housing finance at comfortable repayment tenures, relaxed eligibility criteria and most importantly, affordable home loan interest rates.

So, don’t delay your property purchase any longer. Start an online housing finance application with us today!

0 CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment


To know more about Terms & Conditions, click here.